Painting day 1

Yay!! We’re finally in our house! Now the real work starts…

Here is the basement, red accent wall and Christmas-themed fireplace. Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas, it’s my second favorite holiday, but I don’t need to celebrate it year-round, especially not with an entire wall dedicated to it!
20120517-074034.jpg

20120517-074054.jpg

I feel like accent walls are starting to become a bit dated, but we don’t know what color the other walls are, and it would be impossible to get a perfect match. Since we don’t want to paint the whole basement (including up the stairs), we decided on a less-red accent wall.

Here is J removing the cabinets is the kitchen so we can paint them before we move stuff in (notice the red kitchen – these people loved their red!! We are keeping the kitchen red for now, but have plans to update it in the near future.)
20120517-074110.jpg

Our first dinner in the house, take-out Chinese food while sitting on the tarp surrounded by cabinet doors and drawers.
20120517-074124.jpg

The final results of the basement, day 1 – everything is white! A clean slate to start our projects.
20120517-074134.jpg

One coat of primer, and one coat of paint, the Christmas pattern still haunts me.
20120517-074142.jpg

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in house work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment