Weekly weigh in, week 2

Well, this week was better than last week. Not perfect, but moving forward. It’s been more of a challenge for me to log everything this week, but knowing I have a public space that I have to record (even if no one ever sees it) is great motivation.

The good: I logged my food every day, I even carried a calorie deficiency 3 days! I did some Pilates at home on Sunday, and ran (C25K, week 2) and lifted Mon, Wed, and Fri. I also spent about 2 hours landscaping (weeding) my front lawn on Thurs, which is not really “exercise”, but definitely burns calories.

The bad: I definitely over-ate some days. Last night my Bible study group had a potluck. I pigged out, and then had tiramisu AND icecream! Overall, for the week, I estimate that I over-ate by about 750 calories in total for the week. That’s better than last week, but I’m supposed to have a deficiency!

Somehow, I still managed to lose 1.2 lbs this week, for a total of 1 lb down! We’re moving in the right direction.

What was discouraging this week: I’ve been really sore. Not sure if it’s the workout, the running, or the poor eating, but I’ve been really sore this week!

What was encouraging: two things. One, rest days. I have very much valued my rest days this week, especially to help relieve the soreness! Two, I don’t know if it’s just me, but I am starting to see muscle definition again (been lifting for almost 2 months), and my waist looks smaller to me. I guess the final verdict will come out Oct 1 when I post my first progress photo.

My favorite meal this week: I have a tie. I really liked my breakfast, but I did breakfast last week, so I’ll throw in a dinner too.

Green Smoothie:
1 cup spinach leaves (kale also works)
1 banana
2/3 cup pineapple chunks
1/3 cup cranberries (whole, not dried)
1/3 cup raspberries
1 cup unsweetened, original, almond milk
– blend and enjoy! A large breakfast smoothie just 239 calories, 1 serving of veggies and 4 servings of fruit!

Chicken pot pie:
2 chicken breast (fat trimmed)
1 large bag mixed frozen veggies (I prefer carrots, onion, celery – avoid corn, peas, and potatoes, all yummy, but not nutritionally beneficial. You could use fresh veggies of you wanted)
1 can 98% fat free cream of celery
1 can 98% fat free cream of chicken
1 cup bisquick
1/2 cup almond milk (original, unsweetened)

Boil (or bake) the chicken until thoroughly cooked, cut into small pieces. Combine chicken, veggies, and soup and pour into casserole. In another bowl, mix bisquick and almond milk, dot on top of chicken mixture. Bake at 400 for 25 min or until biscuits are golden brown.

Makes 6 servings, for only 207 calories/serving!

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in diet & fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

