Housewarming/Birthday party – planning

We finally have our house together enough to have a party! And it just happens to fall around the same time as J’s birthday. So we’re doing a combined housewarming and birthday party.

I think of party planning as 3 major portions: Planning, Preparation, and the actual Party. Because a lot of thought and time goes into each portion, I’m going to make a separate blog post about each.

Planning!

The first thing to decide is: what kind of party should this be? I’m fond of dinner parties, but we wanted a big bash for all of our friends, so we’re going regular old house party.

Who to invite: this one was easy, we invited about 70 of our closest friends!

When: we don’t want people to assume we’re making dinner, so we had to set it late, but we also invited a lot of people with small children, so we needed to make it before their bedtime. We decided on 7, but told people to come whenever it is convenient for them.

Drinks: if you plan in serving alcoholic drinks, you should also plan to have a variety of non- alcoholic drinks too. We are going to serve beer, wine, and one “signature” drink (Caribbean Tea Punch), water, soda, and a “signature” virgin drink (Pineapple Strawberryaide). There will also be jello shots, hehe.

Food: as for the RSVPs so far, it looks like we’ll have 30-40 people. We’re planning for 40, just to be safe.

I’m just making a variety of finger foods. It is always important to consider any known dietary needs if your guests, and usually a good idea to make one or two vegetarian dishes just to be safe. I always make sure to provide a basic veggie tray with humus and ranch options. The plan for this party is:

From Entertaining Simple, an excellent book on the basics of entertaining:
– Brioche Rounds with Goat Cheese, Prosciutto, Figs, and Honey
– Red Potatoes with Avocado & Salsa

From Coolers, a simple book of drinks, alcoholic and non.
– Caribbean Tea Punch (with rum)
– Pineapple Strawberryaide (non alcoholic)

From Big Book of Appetizers, one of my favorite cook books! All sorts of finger foods and appetizers! They even give recommended menus for different party themes to get your imagination going.
– Smoke and Fire Beef Kebabs with Sour Cream – Lime Dressing
– Chicken Kebabs with Green Herb Dressing
– Phyllo Four Cheese Pizza

Off of Pinterest:
Strawberry Margarita Jello Shots
– and an ice cream bar. I’m not adding a link for this one because I’m taking ideas from a few things I saw, and making it what I want it to be.

I will also get a birthday cake for J from a local grocery store.

Music: we plan on having some background music at least earlier in the night as guests are just starting to congregate, but I haven’t picked out a playlist yet. I’ll probably use Spotify.

Decorations: since this is the first time people are seeing our house, I don’t think we need too many decorations. I’ll just be happy if it’s clean! We did order some special outdoor lighting so people can be out on the deck if they want.

I feel like I am going into this party pretty relaxed. We’ll just see how the night evolves. Yes, I know it looks like I put a lot of thought into it all, but really we all make decisions on all of these issues when we plan a party. Usually we don’t stop to think about what intentions we have for our gatherings.

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in entertaining and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

