Weekly weigh in, week 5

I guess it’s true that it’s 80% diet and 20% gym… Unfortunately I focused on the wrong thing this week.

The good: I was in the gym 4 days this week. I did days 1-2 of week 3 of the C25K plan (finishing day 3 today). My workout buddy and I switched to a 4-day weightlifting routine, where we focus on one main exercise/day, then follow up with light upper/lower as we feel. I lifted weights M, T, Th, F this week! I also stayed late on Tues and went to a yoga class. I used to do yoga way back when, but haven’t been for a while. I liked the class, I think I’ll try to add Tues/Thurs yoga whenever I’m free. The problem is that the yoga class is really late, so it’s kinda hard to get to.

I feel strong. Weights are becoming my friend. I can really see definition starting to come out in my arms and legs. My runs feel better too. There is still a pretty big wall, but I’m learning how to push through it.

The bad: I didn’t track my food. I just ate whatever I was in the mood for. I tried to stop when I was full, but I didn’t bother to track.

Overall: up another 2.5!

Guess I know what I have to do this week. It really is all about what you eat. I haven’t tracked in 3 weeks, I wonder if I can get back to it this week!

My favorite meal this week: tacos! I always forget how simple and healthy tacos can be. If I’m being really good, I’ll just put all the taco ingredients over a salad, but even a tortilla isn’t that bad!

Healthy taco ingredients:

For the base, choose one and mix with taco seasoning:
Organic, lean ground beef
Crumbled tofu
Ground chicken
Ground turkey

Toppings, use freely:
Lettuce
Tomatoes
Onions
Jalapeño
Lime
Avocado
Home-made salsa and guacamole
Hot sauce
Nopales (Mexican flat-leaf cactus. It’s kinda weird, but it has a bright, sharp, clean flavor that will really wake up your taste buds. You can buy canned, but I prefer fresh. Just take off the thorns and the skin, cut into small pieces and eat!)

Toppings (use sparingly):
Black olives (natural, but high on fats…and not necessarily the good ones)
Natural sour cream
Shredded cheddar cheese (NOT ‘cheese product’, not that fat-free more-chemical-than-cheese crap – if you’re going to eat cheese, get the real stuff and use in moderation)

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in diet & fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

