Salsa and hospitals

So last night J and I went over to a friends place for “Mexican night”. She made tacos and we had a salsa competition. I made a “spicy salsa con nopales”, which won first place!

My award-winning salsa:

First I blended:
1 1/2 tomatoes
1 habanero (could use jalapeños for mild or serranos for medium)
4-5 cloves of garlic

Then, I cut up (using my mandolin to speed things up):
1 1/2 tomatoes
1 yellow onion
1 bunch cilantro
1 1/2 large (or 2 small) nopales (cactus leaf)
20121013-082302.jpg
To clean a cactus leaf, first you use the rough side of a dish sponge under running water on each side and the edge to remove the needles. Then I run the blade of the knife along the skin just to make sure that no small needles made it through. Then simply take off a thin slice around the thin edge (knife is perpendicular to the leaf – that’s where the concentration of the needles are) and the cactus is ready to be cut up and served! (if you need help, search YouTube, it shows how to clean a cactus much easier than I can explain it)

Add the juice of 2-3 limes, salt to taste, and there you have it!
20121013-082310.jpg

my “I’m officially old” injury:
At the party we were playing Just Dance on Xbox Kinect, which is one of my favorite games! I was really getting into it since I skipped my run this morning.

I was just starting my third song of the night, took a step backwards at and angle, and there was no recovering. In slow motion, it went something like this:
– Step, instead of feeling like a step, I felt as though someone had put a wet sponge between my knee, it was soft and squishy
– “hmmm…that didn’t feel right…”
– pop pop pop!! I think I heard 4-5 pops (like when cracking your fingers), my friend sitting behind me said he heard 3
The next thing I remember, I’m laying on the opposite side, and my friend, who happens to be a doctor who has torn his ACL before, is sitting there with an ice pack on my knee. I’ve never felt burning pain like this before! I’ve burned myself on 400 degree ovens, but that was nothing compared to this. I normally HATE icing my injuries, but this time the ice was the only reason I wasn’t screaming in pain! My friend told me that it was probably ligaments and that the hospital probably couldn’t do anything, but it also wouldn’t hurt to go to the E.R.

J went and brought the car around, and my friends carried me to the car. (no WAY I could walk!). We got to the E.R., did some basic tests, got some x-rays, and of course nothing is broken. I was told to call an orthopedic Monday morning. They gave me a knee brace, crutches, and a prescription for ibuprofen.

20121013-084756.jpg

J took me home and got me settled on the couch. I don’t think I’ll be continuing with my running program for a while…

So here I am with my first real injury, 4 days before my 30th birthday. Welcome to being old!!!

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in knee surgery, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

