Knee Update and pre-surgery days

10/16 – I’ve now had my MRI, met with an orthopedic PA, and then an orthopedic surgeon this morning. I am apparently talented at tearing my knees :-p. I have a “bucket handle” tear on my left lateral meniscus, and it is folded in half on top of itself, which is why I can’t straighten my leg all the way. The meniscus is physically stopping me from fully extending my leg! I also completely tore my ACL. On the MRI, you can see the bottom half where it is supposed to be, but the top half is just completely missing. The surgeon thinks its probably along the top of my knee, facing backwards. I did not sprain my MCL, as originally thought, but there is a large “bone bruise” on that side. That hurts a lot.

The placement of the meniscus is a worry, and so he scheduled me for surgery ASAP. Actually, Thursday!!

10/17 – not much to report today. My knee feels the same as it has for the past few days. I am, however, nervous as all get-out about my surgery tomorrow!! I have been praying, and asking others to pray! My “comfort verse” right now is:
“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:6-7)”

I’ve read it probably 100 times already today.

PM: J and I went shopping today. I got a lot of easy-to-eat foods. Easy like celery sticks, beef jerky, slim-fasts and almonds. I also got a large bag of tortilla chips and Mission Guacamole Dip, which is my ultimate “guilty pleasure” food right now! The guacamole dip is not like real guacamole, but I love the taste of it none the less.

I prepared the guest bedroom to be my “recovery room”. I moved the little writing table next to the bed, and filled it up with: my glasses, my laptop & charger (with Netflix ready to go!), phone charger, books I want to read, DVDs I’ve been meaning to get around to, food that doesn’t need refrigeration, my HUGE water bottle, and all my crochet stuff! I have a bunch of pillows to elevate my leg and my warmest socks/sweater for when I need to ice my leg.

20121017-204003.jpg

I moved all of my stuff to the guest bathroom as it is closer to the bedroom and larger than the master, so it’s easier to maneuver with crutches, especially when I can’t band my leg.

I think I’m ready. Lots of prayers. I’m getting to bed really early so we can get up really early! We need to be at the surgical center at 6:10 am, and it’s a 45 minute drive with no traffic!

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in knee surgery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

