Recovery – Day 2

Nothing much new to report today. Still laying around with my leg elevated.
20121019-165414.jpg

I was feeling pretty good all day, so I decided to cut down on the Percocet a little bit. I am definitely still using all of the pain meds! I was pretty stiff/sore by the end of the timeframe which I took the smaller dose, but I think I can manage.

My cryo-cuff is definitely my #1 item in pain relief. I didn’t know I could love any machine this much!!! I would use it all the time if I could. I can feel the pain and swelling go away when I turn it on.

I’ve started to do some basic exercises. Heel pumps (moving my foot up and down to stretch the calf), foot circles, static quad and gluteal contractions. I got a call from the surgical center to see how things were going, they sounded happy with my ‘progress’ so far. I also set up my physical therapy appointments for the next few weeks. I’ve noticed some numbness in the bit of the calf that’s showing between the brace and my sock, but I’m pretty sure that’s normal.

Tomorrow I get to take the bandages off. I’m excited and a little scared :-p. I’ll just get some *lovely* pictures for all of you, then it’s back on with the ace bandage, cryo-cuff and brace. I am looking forward to a chance for my leg to breathe!

I haven’t gotten to sleep as much as I would like today It’s been a busy day filled with friends and family, and for that I am thankful!

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in knee surgery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

