Recovery – Day 5

Oh man! Last night took more out of me than I anticipated. I went to bed around midnight, and didn’t wake up until about 11 am! Apparently 2 hours of sitting upright requires 11 hours of sleep to recover. My strength is definitely diminished!

Again, I am extremely thankful for my cryo-cuff! Without it, I think my leg would be twice the size it is today! I wore it all night, and most of the extra swelling is gone.

The swelling looks about the same as it has since I took off the dressing, but the coloring has changed.
20121022-105911.jpg
In the picture you see that my legs are different colors. That’s actually how they look in real life. I’m surprised there is not more bruising on the left yet, but the entire leg looks like a pre-bruise. The back of the leg is still pretty bruised, but doesn’t look that different from yesterday.

I did manage to get one angle that catches the odd swelling below the knee on my calf.

20121022-110758.jpg

The pain is completely controlled by pain meds right now. In fact, earlier today I noticed my leg started to get achy minutes before my alarm went off to take my next round. The weird thing is, my leg is at a point where the entire leg is itchy all the time! I’m trying not to scratch it, so instead I’ve been putting lotion on it, but that only stops the itching for about 30 seconds. My leg is also extremely sensitive to touch. It’s not necessarily painful, but the slightest touch feels like I am putting a lot of pressure on my leg. My leg brace feels like its super tight, but it’s actually so loose that it slides when I walk. Because of this, I haven’t been icing it as much today as I did previously. I even take the brace off when I’m just sitting in bed. I’m supposed to wear the brace all the time, but it’s just not comfortable now.

Today is my first day home alone while J is at work. I’m almost kinda glad I’m so tired, so I’m not bored today. I start PT tomorrow, so that will be interesting. I think I’ll probably be exhausted after that.

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in knee surgery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

