Recovery – Day 6

So yesterday was a good day until I took a shower. Somehow I managed to hurt myself getting out of the shower which made my pain go from a 1/2 to an 8/9. I took 2 Percocets and went to sleep. Woke up this morning, and took 2 more. The pain went back to 2/3.

This morning was my first PT appointment. I got there, and the first thing they did was do some tests to discover what % my knee was at. They said their goal was to get me back to at least 90% by the time I’m done with therapy. I scored 7% this morning. I’m a bit amazed at exactly how bad my knee is. They measured the size of my left knee compared to my right, the knee itself has 2cm of swelling on it. They also measured my range of motion (ROM), but didn’t tell me the result. They also confirmed that my surgery was ACL reconstruction with hamstring graft and partial lateral meniscectomy (meaning they had to remove a portion of the cartilage inside my knee, I’ll find out how much on the 6th).

The therapy session mainly consisted I stretches and a few quad-strengthening exercises. It was harder than it should have been, but not terrible. When I was doing the exercises I noticed how small my calf looks. My calves are usually very muscular and huge, they’re one of my least favorite features.
20121023-160243.jpg
(I took the picture when I got home, but you can kinda see how small it looks – my leg has no shape, its like an even taper from thigh to ankle. Legs are supposed to have curves!)

They gave me some ice. Then I came home and hooked up the cryo-cuff again.

Surprisingly, or maybe not, after PT my leg felt really good. In fact when it came time for the Percocet again (11am), I only took 1!

I stayed downstairs, played some Wii, played some games online with my mom while Skyping with her. It was a lot of fun. Everything was going well.

Then 3:30 hit! I’m still amazed at how fast I can go from pain level 2 to pain level 8! It was like one minute I’m fine, even able to take a step or two without crutches, the next minute I’m on the verge of passing out due to the pain! I need to make it to 5 before I should take the Percs again. The pain seems aggravated by touching the bruise behind my knee or by anything that puts pressure on the leg, such as my brace. I took off the brace, and put the cryo back on! I’m starting to get worried that I’ll still be on pain when my prescription runs out. I’m sure I can get more, I just hate asking.

PM Update
The #1 thing that everyone told me going into surgery was “stay ahead of the pain”, which I am apparently really bad at. I know I’m a first-class wuss, but tonight walking from the guest bedroom to the bathroom and back hurt so much, I was in tears. I finally got my cryo-cuff going and another ice pack on the back of my leg. My leg looks HUGE from all packing on it.
20121024-010850.jpg

I really hope I don’t get frostbite while I sleep :-p. I’m going to call the doctor tomorrow because at this rate, I’ll run out of pain meds by Thursday. I hate asking for more, but I need them! I just need to accept it and really take them before I get myself in these situations.

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in knee surgery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

