Recovery – Day 7

I did my first round of PT at home. I’m embarrassed at how little work I need to do to break a sweat. But in the other hand, it feels REALLY good to be exercising again, even if it is just leg lifts and stretches.

Had some more friends stop by today. One lady from my Bible study came over just to hang out, and she brought muffins. It was nice just to spend time being social. I’m definitely an extrovert, and staying home is getting to me.

Another friend brought over some chicken and sausage gumbo. I was originally against the idea of people bringing us food, as I’m not the type to let others take care of me, but the meals have really been a life saver. J is a good cook, but the poor guy needs to do all the cooking, cleaning, and waiting on me hand and foot, along with working a full-time job. It’s been trying on him too.

I’m almost out of Percocet, so I called back into the orthopedic office to get a refill on my prescription. They told me that they would give me a prescription for Vicodin. I told them that the Percocet is barely keeping the pain at bay, but they told me to try the Vicodin, and call back if it wasn’t working. I’d be lying if I didn’t say I was a bit terrified after last night, but with enough stretching/PT and ice, I may just be able to make it. So I’ll give it a try, and we’ll see how it goes. I read online that it’s not uncommon for the pain to spike at some point in the 3-8 day range. Maybe I’m finally coming out of the worst part? :: fingers crossed::

And because it wouldn’t be a proper post without some awful image, here’s what the bruise on the back of my knee (by far the most painful area part right now) looks like. It’s turned solid, and makes bending my knee or flexing my foot, which in turn is making walking difficult.

20121024-164819.jpg

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in knee surgery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

