Recovery – Day 8

The Vicodin seems to be working! It doesn’t completely erase the pain, but it dulls it enough that I can’t complain. I also have SO much more energy now (or am less groggy, but I feel awesome)! I’m excited to get healthy again. Now I just new to learn to be patient ;).

I had my second PT appointment. He said I have “congenital ligamentous laxity,” which basically means the ligaments in my entire body are looser than they should be. I’ve always known I could hyperextended any joint, I thought I was double jointed. It’s really not that big of a deal, but it does mean that my joints aren’t able to protect themselves as much as a ‘normal’ joints, and therefore I am more prone to injure myself. He said he’s not surprised at all that I tore my ACL. I guess from now on, I just need to be more careful when I exercise or play any sports.

My ROM is -2 (almost full extension) to 70. Not awesome, but the PT seemed pleased this early on in recovery. Today they did more manual work – such as massaging my knee cap which hurt like $&?! and manually working on my ROM. I did some more intense stretches, but was told at home to just keep up with the exercises I was given on Tues. It hurt, but it was the healing kind of hurt, and I feel really good when it’s done.

The bruise on the front of my leg is starting to catch up to the bruise behind my knee.
20121025-110522.jpg
There’s also small bruising at the incision sites and on the outside of my knee.

Overall today has actually been a pretty amazing day. After the pain I had Monday night/all Tuesday, today feels fantastic. I actually took my first non-crutch assisted steps today! Admittingly, I don’t think I could do more than the bedroom to the bathroom, but it’s a step forward.

One of J’s good friends from CA stopped by tonight to hang out. He brought me some macarons! Mmmmm. Nothing helps you heal faster then sugar 😉
20121025-182158.jpg

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in knee surgery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

