Recovery – Day 11

So today was the morning of crazy Praise Team. I sing on the praise team at my church, but because of the knee problems I haven’t been able to serve all month. So I get a call at 8 am this morning from K, the leader of our praise team. J and M (who are married) were supposed to play and sing this morning, however J went into early labor (about 35 weeks along), and they had a baby boy last night. Everyone is doing fine and healthy. Except now there is no one leading worship at church this morning. So K told me he’s fine if I sit while I sing, but he needs singers because he is getting over a lung infection.

So we get to church, I set up my chair and microphone, everyone gets set up, we were able to get a piano player, P (who was supposed to be our MC this morning, but we pulled our second pastor in to do that instead). K is leading, without singing, P is playing and singing, and I’m singing while I sit. It was truly by God’s grace that we were able to get through this morning with a semblance of uniformity.

As soon as we finished our closing set, K walked over to the side, and collapsed!! Apparently he was so dizzy, he just couldn’t hold himself up. Fortunately, we have a lot of doctors in our congregation, we got him some juice and a granola bar, and he started feeling a bit better.

As for me, even though I was sitting for the most part, my leg still started to bother me. I loosened my brace 3 times to accommodate for swelling, but by the time I got home, it was still really tight. I got the cryo-cuff on it right away, and ended up taking a 3 hour nap. I was really nervous about going to work tomorrow, but due to the threat of Hurricane Sandy, my office is closed!

On a bit of a TMI note, I can’t shave over the sani-strips on my knee, so my knee is getting pretty hairy, eewww. I can’t stop playing with it :-p. I feel bad for the doctors who have to touch it. I guess they’re used to it…but I still think its gross.

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in knee surgery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

