Recovery – Day 13

We survived Hurricane Sandy without any incident. It’s been nice to have a couple extra days off work. Being awake and active all day very tiring for me.

I ventured into the kitchen today to make an apple crisp. It took me 3 hours because I had to get the ingredients, bring them to the dining room table (where I can sit) to prepare, then back to the kitchen. By the time I was done, I was so tired that I didn’t even try any. I got a 20 min nap prior to going to PT. After I got home, I made tomato soup and grilled cheese for dinner. I barely stayed awake long enough to eat it, then finally zonked out on the couch, got my cryo-cuff on, and chilled before going to bed.

PT was good today. I mentioned that behind my knee had two very hard “lines” which were extremely sore (where the majority of the bruising is). She felt around a bit, and said that I had a lot of swelling back there. She massaged it for a while (which was quite painful!), and told me to have J massage it for me twice a day. She said if the swelling doesn’t go down soon, they might move me to 3 times/week until we get that under control. I got on the stationary bike today! Unfortunately, my knee is so tight that I can’t even do a full circle, so I just pedal as far forward as I can, hold for 5 seconds, then backward as far as I can, hold and repeat. I can’t wait to get into the gym tomorrow and look like a total wimp! Especially since 4 weeks ago I was running 30 min and dead lifting 165 lbs. Now my entire workout is 7 min on a stationary bike, not even doing a full pedal :-p. On the positive side, my flexion is up to 75 degrees.

For a maybe-TMI update, I am SOOO dehydrated. I’m thinking it is the pain meds, which I’m weaning off of. I drink a ton of water, but my skin is dry, lips are chapped, and I feel completely dried out. I don’t know what else to do.

Tomorrow is back to work. I hope I have enough energy to get through the day.

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in knee surgery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

