Post-Op appointment

Today’s PT appointment was as rough as yesterday’s. I was pretty exhausted by the end of it.

My post-op was a bit anti-climactic. The surgeon came in and looked at the knee really quick, did a few ROM movements and felt to see how loose it is. He said everything looked good. He explained the surgery, and said I had “probably at least 50%” of the meniscus left.

He told me that on the femoral side, the ACL graft is held in place by an extracortical bundle (which secures the graft without screws). On the tibial side, there is a dissolving screw inside the bone, and then on the outside, there is a second screw going into the bone to which the graft is tied. Basically my knee looks like this, with a second screw inside the tibial tunnel, so on the bottom it is “fixed” at two locations.

20121108-072728.jpg

I’m allowed to walk around the house without the brace, for short distances, and I’m allowed to sleep without it!!! I still need to wear it if I’m going to be weight bearing for any amount of time (i.e. outside the house), at least for a couple weeks.

He asked if I had any questions, which I did, but idiot me forgot to write them down, so I didn’t ask anything. I was going to ask how long I should take ibuprofen for swelling, if I should continue taking Vicodin before PT, how long I should expect to be in PT, etc…

My coworker said he was able to get a handicap pass for 3 months after the surgery, but I decided not to ask. I feel like I can walk fairly decently, and also my surgeon is very active and wants me to be active as much as possible, so I just didn’t feel right asking for one.

All in all, the appointment was only about 5 min. I have another check-up in 6 weeks.

PICTURES!!!

I have pictures from the actual surgery, where you can see some of the process step-by-step. I’m afraid they may be too detailed/TMI to just put on this blog, but if you’d like to see them, they are HERE (there are two pages). The handwritten notes are the surgeon’s notes, the yellow notes are my notes (a bit more basic).

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in knee surgery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Post-Op appointment

  1. mom says:

    I can’t see the first picture. And I’m afraid to click on the link to see surgery pics…I’m kinda squeemish that way. 🙂

  2. casadezhang says:

    The first picture should be fixed now.

    And there’s a reason I didn’t just put up the second pictures :-p

Leave a Reply

