Thanksgiving!

J and I hosted Thanksgiving dinner for some people from our church.  We ended up having 8 adults and 2 kids (including me and J, and J’s mom).

We went shopping the weekend before Thanksgiving.  I set a limit of how much I wanted to spend, I was $0.04 under my limit!!

20121219-094045.jpg

Thanksgiving had lots of bacon this year, I even tried wrapping the turkey in bacon! (although overall, I’m not sure I tasted much of a difference)

20121219-094102.jpg

Most of my recipes are taken from my favorite cookbook, the Big Book of Appetizers, or How to Cook a Turkey, my favorite Thanksgiving-specific book ;).  The food included: butternut squash soup, maple-glazed winter vegetables, bacon-wrapped turkey, stuffing, bourbon gravy, pecan cranberry relish, pecan and browned butter green beans, and apple pecan bread.  We served a Riesling and a Beaujolais.

20121219-094117.jpg20121219-094128.jpg20121219-094142.jpg

We bought a cute pumpkin candle when we were on our vacation in PA.

20121219-094229.jpg

And our Thanksgiving tradition lives on!  We only play Settlers once a year, but we play it every Thanksgiving 🙂

20121219-094203.jpg20121219-094217.jpg

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in entertaining and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thanksgiving!

  1. Sarah Clark says:

    I must ask – why only once a year for Settlers?!?! Love your blog – it’s fun to read what you and J are up to! -SC (the wife of DC :P).

Leave a Reply

