Recovery – Week 6

I survived Thanksgiving, somehow… I was on my feet a lot from Wed to Sun, and my knee got pretty sore over the weekend.

On Monday I called into the office because my scars were still really itchy, and starting to swell. I made an appointment for Tues. He told me it looked like a small skin infection, and gave me antibiotics. On Wed, my entire leg was itchy, and Thurs my arms, chest, back, and legs were SUPER itchy. By Friday it was really bad, and I was sick to my stomach. I finally called in again…turns out I’m now allergic to penicillin! I’ve taken it a million times before, and never had a reaction…guess turning 30 really sucks :-p.

Also on Monday, I had my 6-month dental cleaning. Come to find out, if you have surgery, and the place anything within a joint, for the next 3 YEARS, you are supposed to take an antibiotic before going to the dentist! Luckily they let me do my cleaning today, and just gave me a prescription (yes, two prescriptions for amoxicillin in 2 days – both of which are useless now) for next time. While the hygienist was cleaning my teeth, she asked me “how did you tear your ACL?” Not wanting to go into all the details, I just answered “being stupid”. She asked “was there alcohol involved?”, me “not enough” haha.

I’m finally off the brace!!! Last week, I asked my PT how long I should wear the brace, and she said “wear it until the 6-week mark” (this Thursday). When I went in on Monday, she said “gee it seems like you’ve been in the brace a long time” to which I responded “well, you told me to wear it until the 6-week mark”, and she replied “you can probably stop using it now”. So no more brace for me!!! I’m also starting to do steps again, although right now, steps are still painful… 😦

Unfortunately, I did not survive Thanksgiving weight-wise. Up 2.4 lbs. not terrible, but I need to be really good next week!

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in knee surgery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

