Chili, the healthiest meal in the world?

OK – probably not the healthiest meal in the WORLD – but the healthiest thing I’ve made in a long time. I love chili! It’s delicious, easy to make, and a great way to get a lot of veggies ;). Plus, this recipe has quinoa AND kale – two amazing super-foods in one easy dish :).

I adapted a recipe from this website, but to make it more my taste, I skipped the beans and added organic meat instead!

Ingredients:
1 cup quinoa, rinsed
2 cup water
1 lb organic, lean ground beef
1 small onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 jalapeno pepper, diced
1 large carrot, peeled and chopped
2 green bell pepper, chopped
1 medium zucchini, chopped
3 leaves kale, stems removed, chopped
1 large (28oz) can diced tomatoes
1 large (28oz) can crushed tomatoes
1 (15oz) can tomato sauce
(could chop up real tomatoes to make healthier)
chili powder, ground cumin, and oregano to taste

Steps:
– combine quinoa and water. Bring to a boil, then cover and simmer until water is absorbed
– brown ground beef in a skillet
– combine quinoa, beef, and all other ingredients in a crockpot and cook on low for 6-8 hours.

I actually cooked this overnight so I could bring some to work for lunch the next day.

This chili has lots of textures and can be as mild or as spicy as you like. Can be eaten alone or served with cheese, cornbread, sour cream, green onions, of any other way you like it.

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

