Baby Blankets

I love to crochet. It’s my ‘me’ time. I also have about a million friends who are pregnant (ok, only about 20, but that’s still a lot!). So I’ve been making baby blankets and stuffed animals (another post) for my friends.

I try to never repeat a pattern for a blanket, but that doesn’t mean I can’t share my ideas in case anyone actually wants to steal them :).

For my first blanket (baby boy), I made this pattern. I made each square of a solid color, and randomized the order. The border is 3 rounds:
Rnd 1 (white): single crochet (sc) in each edge crochet
Rnd 2 (blue): double crochet (dc) in each around
Rnd 3 (white): sc in each around white
**All corners are 3 single/double, chain (ch) 3, 3 single/double.

20130105-225928.jpg

For my next blanket (baby girl), I made this pattern, slightly altered to my own preferences. I made half in pink, and half in green because the mom-to-be told me she loved green. The blanket ended up being a little monotone because of how light the green and pink were, so in order to make the blanket more interesting, I patterned the squares and joined with a single crochet seam to give some texture. The edge is 2 rounds:
Rnd 1 (white): triple crochet (tc) in each crochet space around, at corners: 2 tc, 2 ch, 2 tc
Rnd 2 (pink): *sc in 1st tc space, 2 ch, skip next tc space* repeat around. Treat corners as tc space

20130129-153141.jpg

I’m not sure how, but apparently I nailed the colors and size on this blanket. The dad-to-be sent me this picture of the blanket in the crib (my blanket is the white one on top, it ends with the white/pink, not the green border.

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

