Planning my garden

It seems way too early to be thinking about this, but the planting season is earlier here than I am used to. I want to be prepared this year, and actually do some research on what to plant and when.

My garden last year got off to a good start, but inexperience, late planting, and a 2-week vacation in June led to a disappointing harvest. I think I got about 10 green beans before everything died :(.

A big problem last year was non-compatable plants, and overcrowding. I only attempted 4 vegetabless, but I planted about 20 bean stalks, a dozen or so zucchini plants, and at least 6 large watermelon plants.

This year, I am trying something called companion gardening. The theory, and science, suggest that certain plants help each other grow, and some plants hinder growth. E.G. radishes planted near zucchini are supposed to help them grow, and spreading marigolds and certain herbs throughout your veggies is supposed to attract good bugs, and repel bad ones.

I will also be utilizing square foot gardening. Because my pre-existing raised bed is not ideal for rows, but is very easily laid out into square feet!

I figure in only 30 square feet, I can fit:

6 bean stalks
1 cucumber plant
2 zucchini bushes
30 radishes
18 spinach plants
18 onion plants
2 tomato plants (two early harvest, and two of a “heat resistant” variety in the fall)
1 small yellow sweet pepper bush
1 small red sweet pepper bush
a handfull of chive plants
one basil plant
with oregano and marigolds/petunias scattered throughout.

This will be interesting. In my head this looks amazing, I just hope the reality is at least better than last year’s. If any experienced gardeners actually read this, I’d love feedback! I used to vegetable garden when I was young, but back then I had a HUGE lot to work with.

My to-scale (yes, I’m an engineer :-p) outline of the garden is:

20130211-171404.jpg 

I’d love feedback if any experienced garders actually see this!

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Planning my garden

  1. Madryt says:

    It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or advice. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article. I want to read more things about it!

Leave a Reply

