Pregnancy! – weeks 6-8

6 weeks:

Baby is the size of a black bean! It’s tiny heart will start beating and pumping blood this week! How crazy is that.
20130404-102838.jpg

On Wed, I had my first ultrasound. It showed a 3mm baby measuring 6w2d exactly! We could see and hear its tiny heart beating at 121 bpm! What an amazing sight! We got a few pictures although they are small and blurry, but the grey speck on the right, inside of the black spot is our baby!
20130403-222447.jpg

I’m starting to feel the first waves of morning sickness. Right now it’s nothing too bad, but every once in a while it’ll just kinda hit me, it’s more apparent if in hungry. Luckily it’s not strong enough to make me think I’m actually going to puke…yet!

I’m actually happy to be getting some true symptoms. I’m sure I’ll regret saying that soon, but for now its nice to have done verification that the pregnancy is progressing as normal.

7 weeks:

Baby has doubled in size since last week, and is now the size of a blueberry! No pictures just yet as I’m just feeling bloated, fat, and gross.

Baby is forming hands and feet now! It’s starting to look more ‘human’ than ‘shrimp’ (at least from the google images I’ve seen).

Still have some symptoms, but none are too strong yet.

We’re slowly telling people. All family will know by the end of this week, along with most of our close friends.

Funny story from church yesterday. I was sitting outside the sanctuary when a friend (not a close friend) comes over:
Her “Hey, congratulations!!!”
Me o.O ::blank, confused stare:: thinking “holy crap, how do YOU know already?!?”
Her “you know, for Michigan winning their final four game last night.”
Me “OOOHHHHH!!!! umm..::regains composure:: yeah, thanks. It was a good game.”

8 weeks:

Baby is the size of a raspberry!

I am trying to chose between two hospitals, so I set up appointments with the two different OBs and tours of both hospital’s maternity wards.

On Monday, I had my appointment with OB #2 (#1 was last week, but nothing to report on). For OB #2, they wanted to do their own verification sonogram, so I got to see Speck again! They didn’t measure the heartbeat, but I could see it flickering away! At 6 weeks, baby was only 3mm long, today, baby is 1.6 cm. Baby is measuring 8w0d, so for both sonograms I’ve had, baby was measuring exactly what we would expect! Suh a beautiful sight!

20130415-172353.jpg

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

