Pregnancy! – telling family

Telling J’s mom:
We were planning on telling J’s mom at Disney Land, but we were too excited to wait. J taught me how to say “I’m pregnant” in Mandarin.

Our first day in CA, we were sitting around the breakfast table. I was picking out words that I recognized in Chinese (pear, food…silly stuff like that). J then looked at his mom and said “Rachel learned a new phrase.” She looked at me and I said “wo huaiyun.” She asked “really?!” And gave me a big hug. She asked me how far along I was, and when the baby is due. I said Thanksgiving.

Telling R’s dad:
We Skyped with my dad the day I had my ultrasound. We called him up on Skype, and I said “happy birthday!” (His birthday is 11/23) and held up the ultrasound picture. I said “this is a picture of your birthday present, which is coming on (or around) November 25th!” He was very exited and happy for us. Unfortunately, we’re making him keep it a secret until after my mom finds out.

Telling R’s mom:
For years my mom has said she wants “grand bears” and she wants me to announce my pregnancy by sending her a teddy bear. Well, it just works out that Monday after my first ultrasound is her birthday.

For her birthday, she asked me for a specific trail mix from Costco. I mailed a teddy bear holding a picture frame with one of the ultrasound pictures in it, and a card that said “happy birthday grandma”. In the card, I wrote “I didn’t get to Costco yet, but I know what your REALLY wanted for your birthday!”

She got the box on her birthday. Right before I got home, I got a phone call from her. As soon as I picked up the phone, I hear “AHHHHHHHHhahahaAHHHHHhaha” ::repeat for a solid 5 minutes:: I put the phone on speaker and walked into the house. J thought something was wrong (or I was being attacked by one of the HUGE bees in our front yard). He came running up from the basement.

Needless to say, she is very excited! We Skyped for an hour and a half.

Telling R’s sister:
My sister is graduating from college this year, and in September is leaving for the World Race (info here). So over the weekend I Skyped with her, and said me “so while you’re in Cambodia guess what I’ll be doing”
her “what?”
me ::holds up a picture of the ultrasound::
her “AHHH!!” her roommates ::clapping::
Fortunately on her mission trip, in some countries she will have Internet, and she’s bringing a small travel notebook, so she will be able to Skype with her niece/nephew.

Other family:
I told my grandma and my brother over Skype, and my aunt and uncle over the phone. We are truly blessed to have such a wonderful family in our lives. I am excited to bring another life into this cooky, loving, close-knit family!

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

