Front lawn transformation

Last weekend, I decided to pull up all the weeds and make my front law acceptable again. I planted day lilies last year in hopes that I wouldn’t have to landscape this year, but there were a bajillion weeds, and no lilies this year :(. I figure with how overrun the front yard is, it’s probably just best to tear everything up, and put in annuals. I also bought some mulch hoping that will deter some of the weeds, at least for this year.

Getting ready
20130424-115658.jpg

The right and left sides (and walkway) before:
20130424-120032.jpg
20130424-120024.jpg

I pulled up everything, and put in some snap dragons (my choice of plants this year) and mulched the sides in hopes of keeping out some weeds. I also used Round-Up grass and weed killer (supposed to kill EVERYTHING) on the walkway to take care of the bricks.
20130424-120643.jpg

I put in some peppermint in the window boxes. It’s easy to care for, tastes good, and is supposed to repel ants, which we get a lot of them by the front windows.
20130424-120842.jpg

I’m also doing individual pots of other herbs. Home Depot only had rosemary, but I’m hoping to find thyme and sage other places.
20130424-121013.jpg

Not bad for a day’s work 🙂

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in gardening, house work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

