Garden update

Gardening is an interesting hobby because it feels like it’s a constant battle of “too dry”, “too wet”, “attracting too many insects” and now I’m battling leaf mold (not sure of the official term) on my zucchini. I’m trying a home-made mixture of water, dish soap, and baking soda that I going online to see if it will help with the leaf mold. (UPDATE: it worked GREAT! Got rid of all the mold in less than a week). What would really help is if it would stopping raining ALL THE TIME! Totally defeats the purpose of my soaker hose :(.

20130529-132708.jpg
Overall, my zucchini (front) and beans (back), are doing really well!

20130529-132846.jpg
The radishes (right) are doing well (this is my third batch of radishes already!!), my cucumber (center/left) is growing slow and steady, spinach (far left) is hit and miss, some didn’t germinate, most are growing slow, and one is growing pretty fast

20130529-133227.jpg
My tomato (the one surviving one) is growing slowly. Hope it grows a bit before it gets too hot.

20130529-133346.jpg
The peppers are doing really well, they are small, but were the longest to maturity of anything I planted (well, second to red onions, but they’re boring above ground, so I didn’t picture them), so I’m not concerned about the slow growth.

20130529-133527.jpg
I have a bunch of green onions sprouting, just waiting for then to thicken up a bit. Should be soon!

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

