Old Wives Tales – Boy or Girl? Vote now!!!

We find out the gender on July 1st, but for now, some fun:

1) Mother’s intuition: some studies say that a mother’s intuition is right over 70% of the time = boy

2) Mother’s dreams: the old wives tales say you dream the opposite, my dreams have been girl, so boy

3) Heartbeat: If the heartrate is over 140bpm, it’s a girl, under, it’s a boy.
– This one is a little tricky, at 6 weeks the heartbeat was 121, any further appointments, baby has been moving around too much to count, supposed to be measured at 12 weeks. From the data we do have, boy

4) Morning sickness or no? none = boy, sick = girl. I’ve felt great, so boy

5) Carrying low/high? low = boy, high = girl. All the pressure feels low, but I’m showing high, so I’m gonna say girl

6) Round or pointy? round = girl, pointy = boy

7) Craving sweet or salty? sweet/fruity = girl, salty or protein = boy. Hmmm… my cravings were cheese, crackers, and fruity candy. I’ll leave this up to you = draw

8) Acne or no? girls are supposed to steal your beauty, so acne, other stuff = girl, beautiful skin = boy. I had slight acne, but cleared up. With how un-photogenic I’ve been, I think girl (but you’re welcome to come to your own conclusion).

9) Wedding ring test: put your wedding ring on a string and dangle it in front of your belly, side-to-side = girl, circle = boy. I got girl

10) Chinese gender chart: supposedly over 90% accurate – girl

11) Graceful or clumsy? graceful pregnancy means a girl, clumsy is a boy. I’m definitely clumsy = boy

12) Side you sleep on: they say if you’re more comfortable on your right side, your having a girl, left is boy. I’m much more comfortable on right = girl

13) R.J.’s prediction: R.J. is a friend of mine who has predicted a bunch of our friends pregnancies with over 90% accuracy.  He says: boy

Totals, not weighing any one category more than another:
girl: 6
boy: 6
draw/undetermined: 1

Choose an ID you will remember! More voting to come later. Person/people with the most right answers get home-made Christmas cookies!!

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Old Wives Tales – Boy or Girl? Vote now!!!

  1. I wouldn’t put too much stock in heartbeat, Mom’s doctor was convinced my little sister was a boy because of her heartbeat until she was born! Mom on the other hand knew she was a girl so totes going with momma’s intuition here!

    • casadezhang says:

      I don’t put much stock in any of these. Heck, if anything, it showed us that old wives tales has a 50% chance at being right about gender (6 to 5 is almost half). But they’re still fun. Different people can put as much or as little stock in whichever they want :).

  2. love you grandma says:

    i praise God for this miracle every day is so exciting we have all this happiness because God is blessing us! what an awesome family …i love you

  3. Pingback: Pregnancy! – week 18 | Casa de Zhang

Leave a Reply

