Garden update

It’s been a while since I did a garden update. Things are…weird. Some are good, some are not, and some are just not what I expected. At least it’s always interesting!

Beans: The beans are small, but have tons of flowers (no fruit yet). I pinched off the largest flowers in hopes of stimulating root growth.

Zucchini: The zucchini bushes are out of control! They’re huge.

zucchini
(picture taken about 2 weeks ago)

About a week ago, I picked my first two zucchini.

20130628-185056.jpg20130628-185102.jpg

I made zucchini bread with one, which turned out amazing.  I haven’t eaten the second yet. Unfortunately the recent thunderstorms wrecked some havoc on my plants :(.

20130628-185109.jpg

I put up a fence around my garden. The fence was originally bought to keep deer out which hasn’t been a problem yet, but hopefully it will help hold the zucchini up and keep it out of the mud. I do have 5-6 more zucchini starting (2-3″), so I hope they still grow!

20130628-185128.jpg

Cucumber: I know when I bought cucumber I was debating between the space-saving bush, or the disease-resistant, high producer. I thought I went with the bush, I was wrong! The cucumber vine is about 2′ long now, and was getting into everything. It was smothering my onions, and the tendrils were even starting to wrap around my tomato plant! I put up one if my tomato cages, and brought the cucumber more vertical. This way it had more room to grow without smothering other plants.

20130628-185116.jpg

(it’s hard to see, but it’s at the forefront of this picture) The cucumber is vicious! It has lots of teeny thorns. I was trying to move it into the cage with my bare hands, but got 4 thorns in one finger! I had to stop, wash my hands and get the thorns out, and then put my gardening gloves on. I have about 10 flowers with about 1″ fruit on them, but nothing is growing. I’m actually not sure how fast/slow cucumbers grow. I’m hoping that now that they’re off the ground, they will grow a little better.

Spinach: I have two spinach plants that are growing leaves (out of about 20 seeds planted), and they’ve kind of grown together. I could pick like 6 leaves, but it seems a waste. I have 2 tiny spinach plants, but they’re not growing, and its beyond me what I need to do!

Red Onions: Nothing much to report. There are signs of onions above ground, but I can’t see what’s happening below.

Tomato : My tomato plant keeps getting knocked over by the rain. I put 3 skewers around it and twist-tied them together to make a small support (see picture in peppers). It’s still a very small plant, my tomatoes will be late, if I get any at all.

Peppers: The peppers are still small, but seem to be growing well. They don’t like all this rain, so I fashioned some small supports around them.

20130628-185122.jpg

Please excuse the blurry picture. My hand was shaking, and I wanted to get pictures before it started raining again.

Green Onion: Not a lot to report. They are getting bigger, but not edible yet. I re-read inking, and onions gave a very long growing period, so I’m not worried. They shouldn’t be ready until after the peppers and tomatoes.

Radishes: My last batch of radishes got ruined. They were next to the zucchini, and when the zucchini shot up, the radishes couldn’t get any sunlight. I replanted them where the second tomato should have been growing, if it hasn’t died, and they seem to be doing well. They were also flattened by the rain, but I doubt that will affect a root vegetable as much.

20130628-185136.jpg

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

