Pillow letters

This weekend I spent making “pillow letters” to hang on Z’s wall. I am making the letters to make the name we’re 90% set on, but since you all have to guess, I can’t reveal the whole name.

So here’s your clue: the name has a A.

Here’s the process:

What you’ll need:
Cardboard
Scissors
Fabric
Batting
Stencil/cut out
LOW TEMPERATURE hot glue gun
Yarn

I used a variety of fabrics. You can use as many or as few fabrics as you want. The whole name can be one pattern, or you can repeat your favorites. Every letter can be different if you want. My local craft store sells quilting packs that have small bits of 5 coordinating fabrics for $5. I bought one, used 3 of the fabrics and a pink.
20131028-220918.jpg

Steps:
Get a stencil. I just printed the letters off, one letter per page was the right size for me. Then cut out the letters and trace on to cardboard.

20131028-112829.jpg

Cut out your letter

20131028-112901.jpg

Using the hot glue gun, glue the front of the letter on to the batting, and cut out.

20131028-112959.jpg

20131028-113005.jpg

Cut out enough fabric to fully cover the letter, plus some. I found it easiest to cut out a large square, and cut back as needed. Wrapping the fabric around, glue to back of letter. This is where the glue gun being low temp comes in handy, you will probably slip and get glue on your fingers! I was pretty good, but still managed to get a few small burns. The glue is still manageable if you let it cool for a few seconds, just don’t wait too long, you don’t want the back to get too bulky.

Just play with it and try to get the best fit you can. The back does not have to look pretty.

20131028-113530.jpg

*important: if using a fabric that has a pattern, make sure you place the letter so the part of the pattern you like is on the front!

Braid some yarn to make a hanger, glue on to back

20131028-113635.jpg

And there you have it!

20131028-113659.jpg<

About casadezhang

J and I got married in August 2010, and purchased our first house in May 2012. I decided to start a blog so I can ramble on about all the thing I find interesting. How is this different than any other home/life blog? It's probably not - but I just like to talk :). I'm not the best at updating my blogs, but I'll try to update at least once a week, or whenever anything interesting happens :).
This entry was posted in crafting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pillow letters

  1. Deb says:

    Oh this is fun!!

  2. Kris says:

    These are so cute!

Leave a Reply

